The Council.—The Council now consists of five permanent members (the British Empire, France, Italy, Japan and Germany), together with nine non-permanent Members elected for three years (three retiring each year) from among the fifty-four States which are Members of the League. The non-permanent Members of the Council are at present as follows: Peru, Poland and Yugoslavia, terms expiring 1932; Guatemala, Irish Free State and Norway, terms expiring 1933; Panama, China and Spain, terms expiring 1934. Canada was a Member of the Council of the League from 1927 to 1930, and in 1928 was represented at the meeting of the Council by the then Prime Minister, Rt. Hon. W. L. Mackenzie King.

The Assembly.—Every State Member of the League is entitled to be represented by a delegation to the Assembly composed of not more than three delegates and three substitute delegates, but it has only one vote. It meets at the seat of the League (Geneva) on the first Monday in September. In 1930 the Canadian delegation was headed by Rt. Hon. Sir R. L. Borden and in 1931 by the Hon. Hugh Guthrie.

The Secretariat.—The Secretariat is a permanent organ composed of the Secretary-General and a number of officials selected from among citizens of all Member States and from the United States of America. The Secretary-General, appointed by the Peace Conference, is the Hon. Sir James Eric Drummond, K.C.M.G., C.B.; hereafter the Secretary-General will be appointed by the Council with the approval of the majority of the Assembly. The other officials are appointed by the Secretary-General with the approval of the Council.

Permanent Court of International Justice.—The Permanent Court of International Justice was established by the Protocol of Dec. 16, 1920, in accordance with Article 14 of the Covenant of the League of Nations. It is composed of a body of fifteen judges elected by the Assembly and Council of the League of Nations for a term of nine years, and sits at the Hague. The Court is competent to hear and determine any dispute of an international character which the parties thereto submit to it; it may also give an advisory opinion upon any dispute or question referred to it by the Council or the Assembly. Article 36 of the Statute of the Court provides that any State may recognize as compulsory the jurisdiction of the Court in all or any classes of legal dispute concerning:—

- (a) The interpretation of a Treaty.
- (b) Any question of international law.
- (c) The existence of any fact which, if established, would constitute a breach of an international obligation, and the nature and extent of the reparations to be made for the breach of the international obligation.

Canada has been a Member of the Court from its inception, and in 1929 accepted, subject to certain reservations, the compulsory jurisdiction of the Court in the cases contemplated in Article 36.